Butlers Chocolate: Dark, Milk, and White Varieties

Butlers is an Irish company that makes a wide variety of dark and milk bars. They consider themselves purveyors of happiness, and I have to agree. I am smiling just thinking about eating another square of their Dark Chocolate with Orange and Almond Pieces. It was positively addictive: the sweetness and tang of crystalized orange peel complimented with crunchy almonds in a 58% base.

On the other end of the spectrum, I sampled their Mixed Berry White Chocolate (26% cocoa solids) that was perfect for a Spring tasting. Strawberries, raspberries, lingonberries, blueberries, blackberries and hazelnuts combined with white chocolate for a delicious and pretty bar with an appealing fruity aroma.

Not typically a milk chocolate fan, I was crazy about the sweet, crunchy Milk Chocolate with Honeycomb and Crisp Rice (32%). It isn’t what I would think of normally as my kind of treat, but the smooth chocolate paired beautifully with the consistent crunch of brown sugar honeycomb and addictive rice crisps. (I often make my own concoction of tempered chocolate and brown rice crisps because I find the combination so satisfying.)

Their Milk Chocolate with Butterscotch was less crunchy, but equally satisfying. Dark brown sugar gave depth and a bit more complexity to the sweetness.

Milk Chocolate with Hazelnuts was chock full of tiny nut pieces, insuring a crunchy experience in every morsel.

As someone who eats chocolate on and off all day, I generally don’t find myself reaching for milk varieties, but these three, with their great texture called to me. They are perfect for those times when you crave a more dessert-like experience. In my mind, where I can come up with all sorts of rationalizations, high octane chocolate (those with cacao solids of 70% and above) is classified as food.

Their 70% dark bar is of the milder variety; so, if you are just delving into higher cacao territory, try Butlers. The plain milk is just what you would hope: sweet and creamy.

Comments are closed.