Yumnuts Chocolate Cashews

It has always been easy for me to see and taste the difference between higher and poorer quality cashews. Yumnuts look great and their texture is extra crunchy, the opposite of many mealy cashews out there. Almost all of the Yumnuts cashews I tried were in pristine, whole condition. While they were dry roasted, they didn’t taste dried out.

I was curious to see how they interpreted their chocolate version, as one of the reasons I avoid chocolate covered nuts is the disproportionately thick coating of chocolate that typically enrobes them. These had a thin film of cocoa and a little honey. Naturally, with that light treatment they didn’t boast a very chocolatey presence, but the cocoa enhanced the cashews in an interesting way, giving them depth and a very attractive almost black coating.

The people at Yumnuts sent me a variety of their products, and, even though this is a chocolate site, I liked them so much I wanted to let you know more about their range of flavors.

The Toasted Coconut was just fanatstic. They had a hint of sweetness and a lingering coconut flavor. Not overpowering, but not so subtle you couldn’t taste it.

Chili Lime was redolent of citrus-heat and very satisfying if you happen to love that combination, as I do. The heat was moderate: not enough so steam comes out of your ears, but not barely discernible, either.

Cajun was a fun flavor: spicy with a strong hit of paprika and not hot.

Honey was lightly sweetened, not like many commercial honeyed nuts that resemble sugar encrusted candy.

If you are like me, and sometimes want to experiment with a little chocolate tempering you may want to make some nut and fruit barks with these cashews. Frankly, I think most of their flavors would combine well with a good quality dark chocolate. My ideas include: coconut cashews with raisins, dried cranberries or cherries; honey cashews with dried sour cherries; and chocolate cashews with dried apricots. (I use a microwave method and—gasp!—don’t take the chocolate’s temperature. This works very well about 90% of the time. The rest of the time, believe me, the results are still quite edible.)

There are also many possible uses for their savory flavors. I plan to try the chili lime cashews on my next Thai dish, and the cajun ones on a vegetarian chili.

Leave a Reply

