Godiva 85% Santo Domingo and 72%

The last time I tried Godiva chocolate and was happy, was when I bought their Chocolate Covered Cherries (see review). Recently, while shopping at Marshall’s, I spied a couple of Godiva’s dark bars and temptation got the better of me.

The 72% bar was creamy, snappily tempered, and good.  It had no floral, fruity, or particularly distinguishing features, but it was a perfectly fine, basic bar.

As you can easily imagine, the 85%, with only 5 grams of sugar in a 40 gram serving, was much more serious. Drier, with a longer finish, and earthy notes, it got and held my attention.

With so many vastly superior chocolates readily available, I doubt I would ever purchase these again, but I would happily eat those cherries.

Leave a Reply

