Chuao Caracas & Firecracker

When I was a teenager, my sister used to say she loved the crunch in life.  I wholeheartedly agree, which is why Chuao’s Caracas bar, 60%, with almonds, hazelnuts and pistachios virtually screamed to me from the shelf of my local Pier 1.  The Venezuelan chocolate was nondescript. Even the addition of a decent amount of nuts didn’t rescue this bar. The packaging, with its shiny paper looked pretty enough, but opened in a rough, messy way.

Their Firecracker bar, also 60%, with chipotle, salt and popping candy was even worse.  In a pinch, I could scarf down some of the first one, but this was spicy, bitter, and lacked whatever pop it was supposed to have.  

You can do far better for less than their $5.50 a bar at your local supermarket (think Dagoba, Green & Blacks, and Theo, all of which are reliably satisfying). I hope I have the good sense to resist trying another Chuao creation.

Leave a Reply

