Knipschildt Dark Rum/Honey and Orange Ganache

I know there are two camps when it comes to adding liquor to chocolate: those who love it and those who loathe it.  I am solidly in the former group.  When having my Fallen Chocolate Cake I drizzle some Kahlua over it before adding the ice cream.  So, you can imagine how excited I was to try these little squares of chocolate, rum, honey, and orange; especially, since Knipschildt’s caramel Chocopologie bar was such a delight. 

I sampled them many times before writing this review, but I kept coming up with one adjective: gluey.  And the minuscule bite of candied orange peel on top is simply too hard and chewy.  It was in direct opposition to the texture of the ganache. That may have been the intention, but it didn’t work.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t merely the texture that was off, it was the flavor.  I could make out chocolate, orange, and rum, but the gestalt was dissonant.  It was almost as if the flavors were competing with each other. 

By all means buy the caramel Chocopologie bar, it’s a winner, but I would steer clear of these.

Leave a Reply

