Charlemagne Chocolate 72%

Artist Denise Courant Bellefroid owns Charlemagne Chocolates (eponymously named because the Emperor Charlemagne was born in the historic farmhouse in which the company is housed).    The chocolates are organic, which always appeals to me.  Denise has done something I find absolutely captivating: she’s elongated the shape of her 1.75 oz. bar so it’s very thin.  This makes the chocolate melt almost immediately on your tongue; and, it seems as if you’re getting more.  I’m surprised other companies haven’t copied her design.  The packaging is also a delight.  It’s worth visiting chocolatesource.com just to check it out.  

Perhaps, because of these innovations I find the bars pique my sense of novelty.  They also accomplish that by adding flavors that appeal to me.  One bar I tried has cinnamon and another is flavored with orange. Orange flavored chocolate is pretty widely available, but not typically in a 72% intensity.   Cinnamon, on the other hand, is not a common flavor for chocolate.  This bar has only a gentle amount of spice, so it’s not overwhelming, but it does add interest.  Charlemagne’s chocolate seems to be good quality, but once you add a flavor it’s not as easy to discern the actual nuances of the chocolate itself.  

I like these two bars very much.  They are not on a par with Pralus, for example, but they are very enjoyable if you like chocolate infused with other flavors.  In addition to these two, they make coffee and green tea varieties.  

3 responses to “Charlemagne Chocolate 72%

  1. Dolfin also makes some very thin chocolate bars, many are excellent. Have not tried Charlamagne, yet, will get around to it. Fun to stumble onto another chocolate blog. I also write about fine chocolate on my blog, stop by and check it out.

  2. I have tried Dolphin bars. Love their packaging, those cute little pouches! But, I am not a big fan of their chocolates, even though the various flavors are intriguing.

  3. I’ve tried the Dolfin chocolates, I don’t find them all that good : they don’t use only natural ingredients, and they’re working with industrial couvertures; but Charlemagne works with their own couverture recipes, and only natural flavourings.

Leave a Reply

